Society Diary of Events 2017

 

All monthly Society talks are held in the Anthony Hall, Aston Clinton and start at 8 pm.

They are all free to members, but there will be a raffle and produce & plant stall to defray costs. Non-members are charged at £2. Coffee and tea are served in the interval.

 

Wednesday 11 January

Robert Breakwell: Talk: The Chilterns MS Centre

 

Wednesday 8 February

John Morris: Talk with slides: Our Box Woodland Heritage

 

Saturday 11 March

Annual Social Supper 7 for 7.30 pm: £12 per head

Followed by: Jackie Watson: Movies from Pinewood interpreted by Floral Art

 

Thursday 6 April

Entry Night for the Spring Show

Anthony Hall 6.00 pm –7.45 pm

 

Saturday 8 April

21st Annual Spring Show and Plant Sale

2 pm in the Aston Clinton School Hall. Entry £1

 

Wednesday 12 April

Ken Panchon: Talk: The History and Life of the Red Kite

 

Sunday 7 May

Plant and Produce Stall at Aston Clinton “Village Market”

From 11am: Aston Clinton School:  We need your plants, produce & rhubarb!

 

Wednesday 10 May

Dr Twiggs: Talk: An Insight into early Marriage & the Social History of Allotments

 

Wednesday 17 May

Visit to Peterley Manor Farm at 2.30pm.Travel details to follow.

 

Wednesday 14 June

Peggy Verrell: Talk: Maria Merriam (an Artist working 300 years ago, illustrating both flora and fauna)

 

Friday 23 June

Visit to Bledlow Manor Gardens in aid of Motor Neuron Disease Association.

 

Thursday 6 July

Coach Trip to visit Beth Chatto Gardens, Essex

 

Wednesday 16 August
Entry night for the Annual Summer Show

Anthony Hall from 6.00-7.45 pm

 

Saturday 19 August

60th Annual Summer Show

Café in the Park, Aston Clinton Park, 2pm: Free Entry

 

Wednesday 13 Sept

Neil Stewart: Talk: The Polar Arctic

 

Wednesday 11 October

Annual General Meeting (AGM) followed by:

Barry Oxley: Talk: The Flowers and Birds of Crete

Daffodil & Tulip bulb sale.

 

Wednesday 8 November

A speaker from the National Gardens Scheme (NGS)

 

Wednesday 13 December

Martin Woolner: Talk: The Natural & Cultural Heritage of Holly, Ivy and Mistletoe.

Includes Christmas buffet plus Christmas competition, table decoration – any medium